Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue


The University of Tennessee is fortunate to have several scholarships available to upperclassmen based primarily on campus leadership and campus and community service.

Apply here: Campus Leadership & Service Scholarships Application 

Applications will open on February 15 and close on Tuesday, March 1st at midnight.

Application tips:

The recipients of these scholarships are chosen in the spring by a committee appointed by the Division of Student Life. Students may apply themselves or may be recommended by another member of the campus community.

While there are minor differences in the criteria for the scholarships, the recipients are selected from the same pool.

Only one application is necessary in order to be considered. Specifically, the awards are based on the following criteria:

  • Vic Davis/Earl Zwingle Scholarships
    Awarded to rising seniors who have demonstrated exceptional campus leadership through participation in co-curricular activities in the spirit of Victor M. Davis and Earl Zwingle.
  • Torchbearer 2000 Scholarships
    Awarded to rising sophomores, juniors, and seniors who have demonstrated active participation in campus activities, campus leadership, and service to the campus and the Knoxville community. A minimum 3.0 grade point average is required. While this scholarship endowment has been funded by former UT Torchbearers, there is no connection between the recipients of these scholarships and students selected as Torchbearers at the Chancellor’s Honors Banquet.
  • Volunteer of the Year Scholarship
    Based on leadership, service to campus and community, and strength of character, this scholarship is awarded to a rising senior and is typically given to an “unsung hero”—someone who has received little or no previous recognition or compensation.
  • Charles Higdon Scholarships
    Based on leadership, scholarship, campus involvement and service, this scholarship is awarded to undergraduate students who are not members of social fraternities or sororities. Nonscholarship athletes are encouraged to apply.
  • Jane Temple Scholarship
    Based on leadership, service and campus involvement. Recipient must be an upperclass student from Sevier County, with a preference for Sevier County High School graduates.
  • Chris Dowdle Scholarship
    Based on participation in extracurricular activities and service to school and community. Recipient must live in Williamson County or have graduated from a high school in Williamson County.
  • Jeanne Barkley Scholarship
    Based on leadership, service, and campus involvement. Recipient must be an active member of the Student Alumni Associates.
  • Parents Association Leadership and Service Scholarship
    Based on a demonstrated commitment to leadership development and service to campus and/or community. Recipient must have completed at least 30 credit hours at the time of application and their parent(s)/guardian(s) must be members of the UT Parents Association.
  • Student Government Association Centennial Leadership Scholarship
    Based on leadership, service, campus involvement, and demonstrated ability to get others more involved, engaged, and connected to the University. Recipient must be a rising sophomore or junior, and preference is given to SGA members who have demonstrated financial need. The stipends of these awards vary each year according to the availability of funds, but are generally a minimum of $1,000.
  • Harriet Greve Alpha Omicron Pi Fraternity Scholarship
    Awarded to a sophomore, junior, or senior woman who is a member of a National Panhellenic Conference or National Pan-Hellenic Council, Inc. organization who has demonstrated exceptional strength of character, leadership, and stewardship to UTK.